• Home
  • /
  • News
  • /
  • Italy wins with James Ivory at the 2018 Oscars

Italy wins with James Ivory at the 2018 Oscars

Oscar 2018

District: Estero
Province: Altro
Date: 2018-03-05

Italy wins with James Ivory at the 2018 Oscars

Oscar 2018, a statuette for the film by Guadagnino: "Call me with your Name".


James Ivory for Italy

For Italy, the American master James Ivory wins his first Oscar for the adaptation of the novel by André Aciman of Call me with your name by Luca Guadagnino.

HOLLYWOOD, CA - MARCH 04:  Screenwriter James Ivory (C) accepts Best Adapted Screenplay for 'Call Me by Your Name' from actors Chadwick Boseman and Margot Robbie onstage during the 90th Annual Academy Awards at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center on March 4, 2018 in Hollywood, California.  (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

Of the four nominations, this for the non-original screenplay was the most probable prize and arrived with satisfaction of the director and emotion of the author.

The author himself, in fact, personally thanked the director Luca Guadagnino for his sensibility as a director.


The film by Luca Guadagnino sees the victory of the oldest candidate of all time, in the category "best non-original screenplay".

No prizes for the director, the protagonist and the song.

Among the other prizes

Best film and best director at "The water shape", best foreign film the Chilean "A fantastic woman", best animation "Coco".

Unlike many other editions of the Oscars, there has not been an absolute winner.

Guillermo Del Toro triumphed most with the statuette for the best film and the one for directing he took home two of the most important prizes.

To these, two minor ones have been added: the one for the best original soundtrack to Alexander Desplat and the one for the scenography.

All the awards for the 2018 Oscars


We list below all the Oscar prizes awarded on this long night, the most important night for the cinema.

Best movie

The shape of water - The Shape of Water

Best Director

Guillermo del Toro for The shape of water - The Shape of Water

Best leading actor

Gary Oldman for the darkest hour

Best leading actress

Frances McDormand for Three posters in Ebbing, Missouri

Best non-leading actress

Allison Janney for Tonya

Best supporting actor

Sam Rockwell for Three posters in Ebbing, Missouri

Best original script

Jordan Peele for Escape - Get Out

Best non-original script

James Ivory to Call me with your name

Best photography

Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049

Best assembly

Lee Smith for Dunkirk

Best set design

Shane Vieau for The Water Shape - The Shape of Water

Best costumes

Mark Bridges for the hidden thread

Best original soundtrack

Alexandre Desplat for The shape of water - The Shape of Water

Best original song


Best makeup and hairstyles

The darkest hour

Best sound


Best sound editing


Best special effects

Blade Runner 2049

Best animated film

Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson for Coco

Best foreign film

A fantastic woman

Best documentary

Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan for Icarus

Leave a Reply